Day two down.

So, I never updated with how my first day of work went, so here goes:

It was good, and honestly there’s not too much to report. My first day was a holiday, so there weren’t as many people in the newsroom as usual, which is a good thing. It let me ease into meeting people. The biggest thing I have to learn is the computer system and the local style. Once I get those things down, I’ll start feeling a lot more comfortable. Some of the people I work with were throwing a party for New Year’s, and they invited me. I was really tired, but I went because I really want to meet some people out here and make it apparent that I’m interested in getting to know my coworkers. It ended up being a lot of fun, and I stayed much longer than I’d planned. The party was still going strong when I left at about 3 a.m.

Today was really, really slow at work. There was hardly any copy to read, and there were a lot of copy editors on tonight. They let most of us go at about 11, so I got to do some grocery shopping, etc.

Dan needs to hurry up and get out here, fast. I am going to waste away without him cooking for me. I’ve been eating egg sandwiches, salads and yogurt since he left. We’ve changed our plans a bit, because he really needs to find a solid job before his student loans start coming in. Not to mention, I miss him. It’s looking like we’re going to do a civil ceremony with our families within the next few weeks and then have a “real” wedding and reception for our friends later this year, most likely in August or September. I’m ready to start my life for real.

TOMORROW: I actually go through orientation, which I’m assuming just means loads of paperwork. Hopefully, I’ll find out some important stuff, such as: how to get paid, getting health insurance, acquiring vacation time and the like.

Comment

