News and the like

So, it’s been a bit since I’ve last written, and a lot has changed.

To begin, I am officially a married woman.  That is, once my dad signs and sends off the marriage license.  Dan and I had an intimate, beautiful ceremony with our immediate families, grandparents and a few close friends on Jan. 12 in St. Louis.  I’m so happy to have him as my husband, (wow, it’s weird to call him that now) and we flew back to Myrtle Beach together on Jan. 15 to officially start our life together.  Since then, we’ve been organizing the apartment and putting things together so that we can truly call our home our own.

I jumped back into work on Wednesday, and things there are still going well.  The GOP primaries are coming up tomorrow, and I’ll be working.  I imagine it will be a late night, and I won’t be unhappy when all of this election business ends.  It’s all I’ve been editing for the past few weeks, and I have the feeling that that’s not going to change any time soon.

Dan and I have also been doing some serious shopping, as we’ve come into a ton of gift cards lately.  Our latest purchases include a bed (we’ve been sleeping on a mattress on the floor), a dresser (our clothes are also on the floor), a bedside table, a coffee table, a lamp and some other random house stuff.  Hooray for not being in college anymore and not having to worry about roommates ruining your things.  We can actually afford to have some nice stuff and not only can we afford it, but we can also enjoy it without the constant threat of it being accidentally ruined by careless drunks, etc.

I am happy and excited to have started this part of my life. There’s a lot going on, and there will be for quite some time.  I’m thankful that I have friends and family to share these things with me.  It’s only been a month since I graduate, and so much has already changed!

Comment

