Ladies and gentlemen: We have furniture.

It finally came yesterday morning, and everything was there.  The guys who delivered it didn’t speak the entire time they were putting stuff together, which I found odd.  I have the feeling that one spoke very little English, and the other was just a bit off.  At one point, the “off” one asked if he could use our bathroom. When I told him Dan was in there, he got a panicked look on his face and literally ran out the door clutching his crotch. I don’t know where he went, but he came back a few minutes later looking relieved.

Today was my first trip ever to the esteemed Dunkin’ Donuts.  I usually eat egg sandwiches for breakfast, but was jonesing for something sweet today. We looked up the closet location, which just so happened to be inside, not next to or by, an arcade/gift shop/Baskin Robbins/playhouse.  It was utterly bizarre and completely in line with all things Myrtle Beach tourism.  I can’t imagine actually going there for an early-morning breakfast and cup of coffee.  The flashing lights and cartoon sound effects would be sensory overload if absorbed any time before noon or so.  At any rate, the food was good, and the hot chocolate was even better.  I give it two thumbs up, carnival atmosphere aside.

Another note: We found our pizza place.  The Pizza Shack offers fantastic pies that make the place’s name ironic.  It’s open until 5 a.m. and serves pasta, subs and salads, too.  And the food is cheap.  I give it 4.4 stars out of 5, since there can always be room for improvement.  If you’re ever out here, I will make you try it.

In even better news: My health insurance should kick in within the next 10 days.  Hooooooraaaaay.

Comment

