I never get my fill of kittens.

This weekend was a good one.

The hub and I got a lot accomplished on my two days off, including but not limited to: Depositing paychecks, blowing some gift certificates, putting in some good mileage, watching Rocky III and picking out a new kitten from the Humane Society.

That’s right: NEW KITTEN.

Dan and I had talked about getting another one, and we agreed to go check out the shelter today because it put a notice on its Web site saying that they’re overflowing with cats. I didn’t expect to get a new pet today; Dan had seemed pretty reserved about it. However, we found a kitten we really liked. I went to ask the office people some questions about the adoption process, just for future reference, and they said we needed to have our landlord fill out some paperwork saying we’re allowed to have pets. Then Dan said “Well, I guess we should go ahead and get one and bring it back.” So really, it was his idea to get a kitten today and not mine, which makes me excited. We don’t have him yet, and I don’t know what we’re going to name him, but he is adorable and has the cutest round face. I can’t get over it. There was also a Persian cat that had been adopted. I had no idea that those things looked so hilarious. It’s like it got smashed in the face with a shovel.

Official announcement: Dan and I are going to train for the Myrtle Beach Marathon. We’re too late to do this year’s, which is coming up in a week or so, but we’re putting next year’s on our schedule. We’ve been running three or four days a week and the official training program starts in April. Ask us how it’s going. I want us to be unconditionally shamed if we don’t do it. I’ve been wanting to run one for a long time, and I finally have time to do it. It’s going to happen. Period.

This weekend was the first that I’ve really felt homesick for Columbia. I was working Saturday night and thinking about what I’d be doing if I were back in CoMo; who’d I’d be hanging out with and where I’d be going. The weirdness of not having any place to call my own or close friends that I can call up whenever I want to do something had finally dawned on me. It’s a void that I thought I would feel, but it took so long that I’d kind of forgotten about it.

I’ve decided that for Lent this year, I’m going to give up alcohol and sweets. I’m not Catholic, but I decided to start participating in Lent a few years ago because I feel like there’s something special about giving up a thing that you enjoy – maybe a little too much – in order to better yourself. I feel like it gives you a tiny taste of what Jesus went through when he sacrificed himself for humanity. It also brings the sense of accomplishment that comes with setting a goal and achieving it. So, alcohol and sweets it is.

So, tomorrow kicks off another work week and kitten day. There’s really not much else to say.

Comment

