I have come to realize that…

no matter how many personal documents you bring with you or how many phone calls you make to ensure success, you will never, ever be able to walk into a DMV anywhere and and actually accomplish what you set out to do.

Armed with my: Missouri driver’s license, birth certificate, marriage license, proof of residency, social security card, passport (just to make sure) and some other junk, I set out on the scooter to go to the DMV and get my SC license.  Yeah, not happening.  Turns out, I need a new SS card because I got married.  I called ahead of time specifically to ask if I needed a new one before I went up there, and they said no.

Nice thing about the SC DMV: They have a little table where you go to check in and ask questions so you don’t have to wait in line for hours before you find out you can’t do what you came to do. That was nice.

Anyway, since I was in the area, I decided to lunch at Jimmy Buffet’s Margaritaville.  Yeah, you heard me.  They have a bunch of different kinds of specialty margaritas, of course, and the food was pretty good.  I don’t want to waste words trying to explain a pretty indescribable experience, but let it suffice to say that I will be taking you there if you come to visit.

So, that’s how I spent one of my days off.  I don’t have any big plans for today.  I’m mostly just dreading the 8-day work week I have ahead of me, which starts tomorrow. Gah.

Comment

