The word on the street

I haven’t posted in a bit, but such is life.

Right now, I’m mostly trying to figure out how to ration my vacation days at work so I can do all the stuff I want to do this summer:

  • Visit Columbia (check)
  • D.C. trip with the Brit (working it out)
  • Gabe and Mary’s wedding (IP)
  • My wedding (duh)
  • New York (might have to wait)

Having a limited number of vacation days is the only thing I dislike about having a big kid job.  I can’t just pick up and leave whenever I want to.  After I’ve been there for a year, (which, who knows these days what with the layoffs they announced Tuesday) I’ll have 10 more vacation days, so that will be…AWESOME.  I say all of this because I’ve been extended invitations to attend various events, and I would love to go.  I just can’t, really. That is, unless I want to ditch my own wedding.

The bikers are cruising into town at the end of the week for various motorcycle festivals.  It’s my understanding that their presence turns parts of the city into a cesspool, so that will be interesting. It’s also my understanding that traffic will be terrible on the roads I have to use to get to work, so that sucks.  Luckily, I live fairly close to work.  Unluckily, there are really only two ways for me to get from my house to work, one of which takes me about 10 miles out of the way.  I’ll also feel a little lame scootering to work which all the hardcore bikers taking over the roads.  Thus is my life.

Other stuff: If you’re interested in coming out here for a few days this summer, put in your request now.  Space is limited, and time is running out!

Also, for up-to-the-moment blogettes, go to http://www.twitter.com/salstory

Comment

