Keep your ducks in a row.

A lot changed after I graduated from college.  Within a six-week period, I finished school, moved to the East Coast, started working a real job and got married.  Now that Dan and I have combined our incomes, we have significantly more money than we did when we are college.  I can see how one could become caught up in the business of acquiring stuff with their money.  I, however, have to come realize that I much prefer the art of adding to my experiences and memories.

I won’t be able to take all of my stuff with me wherever I go.  On a bad day, the thought of the new camera on my desk or the fresh pair of shoes in my closet isn’t going to cheer me up.  Memories of the places I’ve gone, the things I’ve seen and the people I’ve met, on the other hand, never cease to bring a smile to my face.

If you move across the country, or around the world, you can’t take your dream home with you.  But you will be able to take the mental snapshots of that cathedral you saw in Spain or the train station you walked through in Germany.  You can recall what it felt like to ride up to the top of the Arch that tiny, cramped elevator with the little boy who wouldn’t stop picking his nose.  Or you can just remember the view from the top, looking out over the St. Louis skyline (it’s your choice to exercise a selective memory).

Everyone knows the phrase ‘Money can’t buy you happiness.’  That’s true, to some extent. But I would argue that money can be a valid pathway to happiness. It just depends on how you choose to use it.

Comment

