Everyone loves free stuff

Dan and I spent about 20 minutes in the cat toy aisle of Target yesterday debating what do buy for our kittens. This is what we do now.

Losing my job when I did is like getting another stab at summer vacation, which is actually kinda cool. I always took classes and worked during my summer breaks, with the exception of last summer, during which I worked and traveled all the time.

Spending my summer in St. Louis has been really fun so far, mostly because there’s so much fun stuff to do. The best part is that a lot of it is free. You just have to get yourself there. Dan and I have decided that we’re going to do at least one, cool free thing in the city per week. This week, it was the zoo.

The St. Louis Zoo is awesome. It has all kinds of really neat exhibits, my favorite of the day probably being the penguin exhibit. It’s a wonderful combination of cuteness and relief from the summer heat. AND IT’S FREE.

The best thing about going to places like this during the middle of the week, in the middle of the day, is that they’re typically not too crowded. Most of the people there are stay-at-home moms or daycare leaders with groups of little kids. The little kids are hilarious; they get so excited about the simplest things and it always makes me laugh. You and I may have been to the zoo dozens of times; seeing an elephant or a tiger might not be a big deal to us. But for a little kid whose only exposure to those animals has been books or the Discovery Channel, seeing those creatures in person for the first time is something to get worked up about. Watching them experience the zoo was a reminder to look at things with fresh eyes sometimes.

Me feeding a giraffe. Jealous?

Me feeding a giraffe. Jealous?

Comment

