Updates and thanks

So, let’s just face the fact that I’m not so great at writing consistently. One of two things usually happens:

1) Nothing worth writing about happens to me.

2) Too much worth writing about happens and I don’t have the time/energy to put it down on paper.

For those of you who don’t know, Dan was hired on at Wachovia doing computer nerd stuff. His first day was Tuesday, and he’s just in training for the time being. He seems pretty content with his responsibilities and co-workers. Thus far, his biggest complaint has been the commute/waking up way early to deal with the commute. Hopefully that will change once his training is over and his regular work hours begin.

I’ve been interviewing and have had some offers, but not for anything I’m too excited about. I interviewed for an editing position a few weeks ago that I really want, and I’ve been told by the HR person that I’m on the short list for round two, so I’ll know more about that LATER.

In other news, we had the Story Wedding, Part II over Labor Day weekend. When Dan and I were first married back in January, I was really happy and content with the way the ceremony went and how low-key it was. After having the big to-do, however, I’m glad we decided to do a full-blown bash, even if it was a little late. There was something breathtaking about having all of our loved ones watch us exchange rings and vows. As the music began and I walked down the aisle while our guests stood, smiled, and watched me approach Dan, something in me realized how blessed and loved I am. I don’t know if I’ve ever felt more special or beautiful.

My bridesmaids were stunning (I have hot friends) and the groomsmen were dashing. The event went off without a hitch and was one of the most fun weddings I’ve ever been to. Dan and I have our guests to thank for that.

When I look back on what’s taken place in our lives since January – getting engaged, graduating, taking my first job, getting married, moving across the country, making new friends, getting laid off, moving back to St. Louis, Dan getting hired, getting married AGAIN – I can’t help but think that this is only the beginning. If all of that happened in eight short months, I can only imagine what will come during the next eight months, year, decade, lifetime. It fills me with hope for the future.

Comment

