Suburban claustrophobia

I can feel the suburbs rubbing off on me, and I’m not sure what to think about it.

Having to drive everywhere, seeing a Starbucks and Walgreens on every corner, getting stuck in traffic behind the soccer mom in the van that is plastered with stick-figure stickers of her husband, son, daughter, cat and dog. Everything is clean, sterile even. There is no character, no art, no buzz.

To compensate, I wear inappropriately wild outfits to the grocery store. I run down the streets lined with cookie-cutter homes blasting my music as loud as I can stand it, hoping to give the neighborhood some juice as my feet pound the pavement. I park in the spot farthest from the grocery store entrance, just to walk a little.

I won’t be washed out. I won’t turn beige. I will always be geometric prints and day-glo colors.ย  Loud music and politically incorrect quips.

I can’t wait to move to the city.

One thought on “Suburban claustrophobia

  1. I totally get what you’re saying! I have to admit, I never felt more insane than during the two years I spent living in a boxy condo in the middle of nowhere. As soon as we moved to Chicago, I felt this peace wash over me. It’s like all my inner chaos is absorbed by the honking horns, blasting music and constant activity.

    Do you know where you guys are moving in the city? Have you checked out Soulard? I’ve always said I’d either live there or on the Hill if I moved back to St. Louis. It’s so pretty, and they’re putting in grocery stores and stuff downtown now. The Tower Grove Park area is nice, too…I have some friends who’ve bought houses over there in the past few months and they say there are really good deals.

    Josh and I go back and forth between Chicago and St. Louis fairly frequently. Next time we’re there, we should hook up for a drink or something.

Comment

