Pounding the pavement

I didn’t do much running during the winter months of this year, which is unusual. I typically enjoy running in the cooler/cold weather, but I guess living in South Carolina for the short time that I did changed that a little. Not to mention that we were insane busy during the holidays and work was out of control.

Instead, I started doing workout videos to keep in shape, and it definitely worked. I’ve picked my running routine back up over the past few weeks, and I feel stronger and less susceptible to injury than ever. My knees feel stable, my core is strong and my hips feel flexible and relaxed. I’ve only been back in the game for about two weeks, and I’ve already got my 3-mile run down to a 9:30/minute mile. I think much of this progress can be credited to Jillian Michaels and her 30 Day Shred video.  It’ll kick your butt and boost your strength and endurance in no time, if you take it seriously.

I also got my new running shoes in the mail last week.  I didn’t realize how broken down my old ones were until I took my new pair out for a run.  You’ll be hard-pressed to find a better pair of trainers for the price than the Saucony Cohesion NX. A perfect balance of stability and cushion for less than $60.

All that being said, here’s to logging the miles this summer!

Comment

