Day 1, all over again.

Today will be yet another first day of work for me. I put in my last day at American Equity Mortgage last week, took off for Chicago for the weekend and am now ready to rumble.

I accepted an offer from the Belleville News-Democrat about two weeks ago. I’ll be designing and editing primarily, but it sounds like there is room to branch out a little into other areas as well.

I’m really excited to be getting back to what I love doing. It’s been hard to bide my time and take bill-paying jobs over the last few months, but hopefully it’ll pay off. I never thought that I’d get the chance to work at a paper again without having to make a major move to another state or something. I’ve been hesitant to write about it, because it just seems too good to be true.

I had a terrible dream last night that the whole thing was a heartless practical joke orchestrated by my brother. I showed up to my first day of work at BND, and nobody looked familiar. My brother had hired people to pretend to interview me and extend a fake job offer. I was so disappointed and upset; mortified that I’d been so foolish. I think some of this apprehension comes comes from my layoff last year. No matter how many assurances you get from a company or other employees, nobody can 100% guarantee that your job will exist in a year, or even six months for that matter. I’ve been in the work force since December 2007, and I have yet to hold down a job for longer than eight months. It’s frustrating.

I am hoping that things will turn out a little better this time around. If they don’t, then whatever. At least I’ll have worked a job that I actually enjoy for a little bit before starting over again. And at this point, I know I’m capable of regrouping and finding something else to pay the bills.

At any rate, I’m ready.

One thought on “Day 1, all over again.

  1. Congrats Sal! I’m impressed by all your job changing fortitude. I hope this one lasts longer than 8 months!

Comment

