BONKING

Hey, get your mind out of the gutter.

Anyway, I apologize in advance for mentioning, yet again, the awful run I had this morning. If you’re tired of reading about it, you can stop here. No hard feelings, I promise.

According to my training schedule, I needed to run 7 miles today for my long run. It was hot and icky outside, so I slogged to the gym to do it on the treadmill.

I failed miserably.

When I’m doing a run of any considerable length on the hamster wheel, I put a towel over the display so I’m not constantly fixated how far I’ve gone (and how much more is left). After what seemed like a lifetime, I moved the towel to see how much progress I’d made. I was already wiped out, and I’d only gone 2.5 miles.

After much mental and physical battling, I managed to run a total of 4 miles and walk another half for a cool down. I thought I’d get into a groove at some point, but it never happened. I left the gym feeling disappointed and defeated. All because I only ran 4 miles.

Only 4 miles?

After being a total baby and calling my mom to complain about my failure, she gently reminded me that 4 miles is no small distance. In fact, it’s pretty darn significant. Four weeks ago, that was my long run.

I’d let myself become so fixated on the fact that I didn’t complete the assigned distance that I overlooked all of the progress I’ve made so far. So I couldn’t do 7 miles today. Maybe my body was telling me I need to rest. Maybe I didn’t eat the greatest breakfast. Maybe (just maybe) I spent the entire previous night psyching myself out (and not up) for my run. Thankfully, there is always tomorrow. And the day after that.

Come morning, I’ll have a new opportunity to meet my goal. And when I do, you’ll get to read all about it.

Comment

