Adventures in running fuel

I had a shorter run on the agenda today, but I wanted to try out some Gu that I bought a few weeks ago. I thought it might be smart to test it while running at the gym in case it caused any stomach problems.

I first ate a plain piece of toast, because it just didn’t seem wise to down a vial of sugar first thing in the morning on an empty stomach. I sat on the couch, tore open the wrapper, and took my first taste of the stuff.

It was weird.

I opted for the Tri-Berry flavor, which contains caffeine. Mmm, caffeine.

Intriguing and terrifying, all at once.

The texture was similar to that of a glob of gummy bears that’s been under the seat of your car for three days during a heat wave. So that was a little off-putting. It was also incredibly sweet, and I don’t have much of a sweet tooth.

After the initial taste, I felt like I needed to see what this stuff looked like, so I squeezed some out onto my finger. It was glittery. Is that good? I guess it did make me feel a little fancy.

I choked down the rest, chasing it all with a healthy dose of water, and headed to the gym. I’m happy to report that it didn’t make me feel sick during my 4 miles, and I never felt wiped out. My legs actually felt pretty good when I was done.

I have several more flavors I plan on trying, but I will say that, for me, the texture left something to be desired.

A friend of mine recommended Energy Gel Blasts by PowerBar, which appear to be goo-filled fruit snacks. I can get behind that. I plan on looking for some this weekend at the sporting goods store.

I’ve also had success refueling with classic Gatorade during my long runs. If I don’t find something I like better than that, I might just ditch all the crazy snacks and stick with that.

What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever tried to eat/drink during a run? Did it work? What’s your favorite refueling tip?

One thought on “Adventures in running fuel

  1. The Gu sh*t sounds hilarious with the texture and glitter. Immediately I am thinking of like melted fishing lures, you know the ones that looks like gummies but are like bright purple with sparkles? My best advice is to keep as natural as possible for the sanctity of the digestive tract, although I am anxious on the details on whether your #1 or #2 came out sparkly. Love you!

Comment

