Bringing sexy back

Or blogging, rather.

I know I’ve brought it up several times in the past few months, but this fall I’ll be running the Chicago Marathon as part of the American Cancer Society’s fundraising team. I have never, ever, been much of a fundraiser in the past; as a kid, I was always the one who barely ever met my fundraising goal for selling magazines, candy bars, etc. I hated asking  people to give me money, even though they’d be getting something in return.

I still hate asking people for money, but I’m making myself do it because cancer research, treatment, and prevention are causes that are much closer to my heart than I’d ever imagined they would be.

Not to drag you into the details, but my longtime best friend’s dad was diagnosed with melanoma brain cancer in June 2012. By the end of August, he was gone, and we were shocked and devastated.

Most of you didn’t know him, but Kim was an amazing guy. I spent a good chunk of my childhood at his house, listening to punk music and painting my nails with his daughter (I still spend a lot of time doing that stuff with his daughter, 20 years later). Health and fitness were really important to him. Every day after work, he’d go out for a run around the neighborhood, particularly in the blistering hot summers. I don’t know how long he was actually gone, but it always felt like a really long time to my 12-year-old self. I remember thinking, “Maybe I’ll be able to run that far some day.”

Well, now I can.

I’m bringing the blog back because, if I’m going to be asking you for money, you might as well “get something” in return for it. It only seems fair that you be able to monitor your investment (in me) by checking in on my training progress and mounting insanity. It doesn’t seem fair for me to say, “Hey, give me some money. Now wait several months to see if I can actually pull this off.”

To those of you who’ve donated: Thank you, truly. It means a lot to me, and I want to keep you up to date on how things are going, if you’re interested.

For those of you who haven’t donated: I guess you can creep on my training and random posts, but I can’t promise I won’t make you feel guilty for not contributing! (you should really get on that by going here)

So, here we go!

3 thoughts on “Bringing sexy back

  1. I am sorry to hear about your friend’s dad. I know how it is to get close to a friend’s parent and start to care about them like they are your own. It’s great to hear you are running in his honor and wish you the best of luck :)

Comment

