Route 66 10k recap?

It’s a stretch to call this a recap, because I don’t have much to say. I woke up early, drove to Edwardsville, Ill., (Dan even came! I usually fly solo at races) and ran/walked a very slow 10k. No PR here, which was to be expected. I got it done in 59:29, about a minute per mile slower than what I had been aiming for prior to smashing my ankle with that piano. My time somehow landed my in the top 10 (out of 20 something) in my age group. So maybe everyone had a rough day?

The weather seemed nice at first, but the course went down into a valley and the  humidity was smothering. If I learned one thing, it’s that I’m not acclimated to the heat/humidity yet. If I learned another, it’s that I need to train myself better to sustain hard efforts for longer distances. I haven’t really figured out pacing for anything longer than a 5k, mostly because I haven’t raced other distances frequently enough to work out the kinks. My plan is to incorporate longer tempo runs into training, because I’m cheap and don’t want to pay for a bunch of races.

I felt OK for the first 3 miles, but I never really found a groove. My ankle started getting sore and tingly at that point and the humidity was getting to me, so I started taking walk breaks 30-90 seconds at a time maybe once per mile. I figured it wasn’t worth pushing it if my ankle was sore, especially since marathon training began Monday!

I felt really wiped out for a good portion of the afternoon. Dan suggested I might have had some heat exhaustion, which is definitely possible. It took a long time for me to rehydrate and feel human again; not something that’s usually an issue for me after only 6 miles.

Here's a picture of me at the (uphill) finish, trying to look happy and excited.

Here’s a picture of me at the (uphill) finish, trying to look happy and excited.

The course was mostly shaded and on a smooth bike path with some rolling hills. I would do it again. The shirts are also pretty cool, and they gave out a pretty decent gear bag, too. Not too shabby for a $30 registration fee.

In other news: MARATHON TRAINING IS HERE. It’s only day 2, but I’ve already impressed myself by waking up at 6:10 a.m. to get a workout in. Please, someone pat me on the back.

EDITED TO ADD: I can’t stop listening to this song:

3 thoughts on “Route 66 10k recap?

  1. Great job, Sally! Enjoy your training! And buy some awesome Nike swag when you get to Chicago. Those Nike races have the best gear :-) You’ll deserve a reward for months of training.

    • Thanks! I intend to reward myself with all of the pizza and beer. And when I say “all” I mean, all of it ever, everywhere.

  2. Chicago style pizza! HYFR!

Comment

