Belated Week 5 recap

Sorry for the belated update! Week 5 went really well; I got in all of my workouts, did a little strength, had a session with my chiropractor, managed a long run on a “week night,” and I think that’s it!

Monday
Plan: Rest
Actual: 1.5 mile walk on my lunch

Tuesday
Plan: 3 miles easy
Actual: 5-mile tempo run (9:19 avg)

Tempos. When I think about them, I dread them. For some reason, interval workouts are less scary, I guess because you get rest periods between hard efforts. At any rate, I feel like I need to work on my sustained hard efforts, so tempo runs will continue to be in the forecast. 1 mile warmup, 2 @ 8:42, 1 @ 8:30, 1 cooldown. Made sure to vary the incline on the treadmill a lot, so I got some good climbs, too.

Wednesday
Plan: 5 miles
Actual: rest

Thursday
Plan: 3 miles
Actual: 3.1 @ 9:14

“Treated” myself to a run in Forest Park. I don’t usually bother driving somewhere to do a run, but I was going to be in the area and decided to take advantage of the change in scenery. The sun was really, really hot; the difference between it and the shade was shocking.

Friday
Plan: Rest
Actual: 10 miles @ 9:54

Had friends/relatives staying with us over the weekend, and I really just wanted to chill out and not wake up early. The weather was fantastic, and I felt great the entire time. I did start to get really hungry around 8 miles in, though. To date, 10 miles is the longest I’ve EVER run in training (I’ve done 2 half marathons), so this was a big win for me mentally. I wasn’t even too wiped out afterward, and my legs were tired but not trashed the next day. It also felt good to see a sub-10:00 average pace after weeks of sloooow runs. Β Some idiot did act like he was going to trip me (I guess he thought it would be funny), which really startled me and caused me to almost trip off the sidewalk trying to avoid him. Thankfully nothing bad actually happened!

Saturday
Plan: 10 miles
Actual: Rest

Sunday
Plan: Rest
Actual: 3 miles @ 9:20

Did this one in the middle of the day, in the blazing sun. It was 88 with a heat index of 91, but I actually felt pretty good. Had it not been so hot, I would’ve extended it. I finally feel like I’m starting to acclimate to the heat and not run 10-minute miles all the time!

Now for week 6, a cutback week that I plan to take seriously, unlike last time. My long run is only 7 miles, which will be a nice break from the past few weeks. After this week, I’ll be 33.33333333% done with my plan. Still feeling good!

Comment

